• Categories

Northwest Territories Student Financial Assistance (SFA)

Funding & Grants Northwest Territories

The Department of Education, Culture and Employment (ECE) provides financial assistance to eligible Northwest Territories (NWT) residents to assist with postsecondary education-related expenses.

ECE offers full-time and part-time financial assistance to NWT residents attending accredited, postsecondary institutions and programs through the Student Financial Assistance (SFA) Program.

The purpose of the SFA Program is to help supplement the cost of obtaining a postsecondary education, not to cover all expenses.

Depending on eligibility, SFA may provide postsecondary students with assistance for:

Basic Grant – Funding for tuition and fees, books and travel costs
Supplementary Grant or Remissible Loan – Monthly living allowance
Repayable Loan – Funding for tuition and fees, books, travel and a monthly living allowance
NWT Grants for Students with Permanent Disabilities
Course Reimbursement – Part-time studies funding up to $500 per course